Skip to content
November 28, 2014 / C H Thompson

Tripartite system

by Sam Cook a former student

Three types of schools were established by 1944 Education Act – grammar schools; technical schools and secondary modern schools.

The basis of having three types of schools came from the idea a child’s ability was fixed by the age of 11 and was unlikely to develop and so an 11 + intelligence test was designed to select which school children would attend. The test was generally sat in sometime in the final year of a child’s primary education (now known as year 6).

Depending on 11+ test result a child would be sent to one of the three schools above in preparation for the type of occupation best suited for them as adults. This process was fraught with several problems discussed in more detail on this page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: